News‎ > ‎

Four Times a Cheetah

posted Feb 3, 2015, 3:09 PM by Vu Nguyen   [ updated Feb 5, 2015, 11:59 AM ]

WONDER WOMAN #9 (Oct 1987)
DC Comics
Four Times a Cheetah
Feb 3, 2015 02:50:01 GMT

Since the first incarnation in the 1940s, the DC Comics villain Cheetah has been portrayed by four different characters and each have a bone to pick with Wonder Woman. Priscilla Rich was the first Cheetah, created by Willima Moulton Marston and H.G. Peter. As the only Golden and Silver Age Cheetah she was introduced in Wonder Woman #6 in 1943.


Barbara Ann Minerva became the Cheetah in Wonder Woman #7 in 1987. Created by Len Wein and George Pérez this third incarnation was a British archaeologist. Minerva travels to Africa in search of the tribe that uses a female guardian with powers of the cheetah. After a group of marauders kill the guardian and most of her expedition partners she gets help from the priest, Chuma, the caretaker of the plant god Urtzkartaga to gain the cheetah’s powers and immortality. Unfortunately, the powers were meant for a virgin, which Minerva is not, therefore the powers become part curse and part blessing, causing pain in her human form and blood-thirsty euphoria in cat form. She comes into contact with Wonder Woman when she learns that Wonder Woman has the Lasso of Truth. Minerva tries to steal it first through tricking Wonder Woman then by attacking her, but the fight ends with Cheetah being shot. Due to her bruised ego from then on she considers Wonder Woman an enemy.